Some eyes I eyed last week

Every day, I come across many different people with interesting eyes.

I don’t talk to these people. I just like observing their eyes and imagining in my head what thing are like in theirs.

Here are a few observations I made, perhaps ignorantly, about the eyes I have noticed in the past few days. I don’t really understand the point of sharing this, but I really, really wanted to write about them.

Set number 1

There is a girl sitting in front of me and I have been stealing glances to look at her for the past half hour.

She is chubby, with a dimpled chin and thin lips. Her eyebrows, which look quite tense, have been plucked to a sharp line, under which her lush, long eyelashes flutter (even behind her prescription eyeglasses) as the wind blows in her direction.

She looks up and I see that her eyes are a very deep shade of brown and her lids droop at the outer corners. The eyes droop some more every time she checks her mobile phone for text messages, making her look sadder.

Perhaps she really is sad because I see her twice a week, but I never see her smile.

She is a girl from my university and she is always reading something.

Set number 2

He is a tough looking man, in his mid thirties. The look of his rough hands, face and body language tell me that he has worked in the sun for a long time. His skin is ashy brown.

He talks rarely but very fast and confidently. One of his eyebrows, which is naturally well-shaped, is always raised in a tense way, and his eyes move from one thing to another rather quickly. He looks like he is trying to make sure everything is under his control — as if he is supervising a bunch of small schoolchildren standing in an assembly.

But there is a certain innocence in these eyes — a childlike look of inexperience. These eyes are dark and they don’t shine even under the afternoon sun. They are almost wood-matte.

I got a chance to look at these eyes without them looking at me, a few times last week, because they were visible in the rear mirror of a car.

This set of eyes belong to a taxi driver.

Set number 3

Clad in an embroidered navy blue shalwaar kameez is a girl withΒ a small forehead and a large face. Her nose sticks out a lot and her eyebrows are a set of impudent arches. The lids are shaded a deep grey at the corners. With a blue net dupatta covering her head, and with her broad shoulders, this girl looks like a future politician.

These kohled eyes are the most arrogant looking eyes I have seen all week and they blink at a fashionably slow rate. As rude as it may sound, the eyes are dull and they make the brain behind them look equally dull.

They protrude, looking unimpressed and pitifully gaze in superiority around everyone around them — everything is inferior.

This girl is in her mid twenties. I found later that she is a teacher.

Set number 4

They are a murky shade of green. They are small and full of youthful, flirtatious mischief — always open like flowers in full bloom.

Sometimes I wonder if they ever want to sleep.

In these unfeigned eyes, I see stories of friends and ambition to grow. They sparkle at everyone.

But sometimes, these alert eyes also tell a tale of missed opportunities, broken promises, delayed justice, unwilling sacrifices and undeserved deprivation.

These eyes belong to a watchman in his early twenties.

17 thoughts on “Some eyes I eyed last week

  1. Nice observation, you could add few more…anyways blog can be updated with part-2 part-3 etc..:) and for the second set, don’t forget that mirror image of his eyes were identical but reversed so perception could change πŸ™‚

  2. Zaalim nazron se mujhko yun na dekho, marjaonga. O Imaana Jaanejana, marjaonga.

  3. That was a very well-written- and, if I may say so, surprisingly insightful- post. You definitely have a flair for writing thoughtfully. Keep at it.

  4. you have amazing observation. I started out by reading your blog about Dhoom 3.. someone put it on my wall. Every blog is very well written. Awesome! I hope many more blogs are yet to come.

  5. And finally you find that its your perception ain’t it πŸ™‚ its what we want them to be viewed in the eyes of society and its not how they really are.. Taxi driver with good qualities and teacher with condescending looks.. If they had seen you as well then they might think otherwise but its the people near you who know who you are.. Am I even making sense.. I don’t know πŸ˜€

  6. Crap. Had thought this question wouldn’t be so inevitable after a few blog posts – but here goes – when are you writing a book??

    Mashalla! The subject you chose ( and if it chose you, then girl! *snap*, you better write a book!!) is extraordinary. From my basic reading of urdu (Ismat, munto, yusufi saab, etc) to english (not much, i hate fiction in eng – but maybe just 4 showing off purposes – the bard to the current beards on US national TV) no one’s pontificated on eyes in thus manner. All I could think of while reading thus was damn! Tolkien! and ‘that all seeing eye!’ and a few other random eye-thoughts. But again beautifully written, meticulously observed and lovingly detailed. A book! A book! And may your first reading be in the land of the Nizams. God speed!

  7. How observant you are! Loved the imageries and vivid description of every minor detail u have come across.

  8. Very well written. Unusually profound. Surprisingly deep. Unashamedly artistic.

  9. Hi Imaan,

    Greetings from India. Spent the last one hour going through your blog and this one makes me say one thing: Someday I hope pick a book in the bookstore which will have your name as the author…

    Insightful, witty and gifted, that’s what you are. I bow to you.

    Regards
    Puru

  10. needless to say your deep observation is appreciable. the way you have conveyed your thoughts through words is mind blowing. i couldn’t resist myself anymore to comment. especially this piece of writing touched my heart. its really rear to feel the things you have mentioned in the blog.

    I must say Imaan you are the inspiration for your Juniors. being a MCDian I admire your work. its such a pleasure to see our seniors working well. keep it up!

    waiting to read your book. πŸ™‚ good luck!

    • Thank you, Mehar! Your comment made my day! πŸ™‚ I’m truly humbled. Best of luck with your careers! Would love to meet my juniors again. ❀ I'm sure you guys are going to be stars.

      • thank you for the best wishes πŸ™‚ we need lots of prayers, guidance and support form our seniors. πŸ™‚ well as far as the last statement is concerned i cannot say anything πŸ˜› u know what i mean πŸ˜‰ wish you all the best! πŸ™‚

  11. Reblogged this on Rising Thoughts… and commented:
    this world can be perceived in many ways. all one need is a new perception to explore the world. here is an example how Imaan explored……..

  12. It’s just amazing, your talent. How many people are that observant and perceptive AND have the ability to put it all so beautifully into words? Bravo!

Leave a Reply

